Chennai: Telangana chief minister and Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) president K Chandrasekhar Rao (KCR) and Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) chief MK Stalin are all set to meet in Chennai on Monday (May 13) at 4.00 pm. The meeting will take place at Stalin’s residence in Chennai.

The meeting comes just days after the DMK had turned down KCR's request citing the May 19 by-polls campaign. KCR had sought an appointment from Stalin in Chennai on May 13.

However, the meeting that is scheduled for today is termed a 'courtesy call' by the DMK.

MyNation spoke to DMK spokesperson Saravanan who said, "This nothing by courtesy call. He (KCR) is the chief minister of Telangana and the meeting is a courtesy call." He further added that nothing will come out of the meeting.

The meeting is expected to be about the federal front that KCR is batting for at the centre. He had met Kerala chief minister Pinarayi Vijayan on the same lines.

The DMK however stated that it had no interest in the meeting as they are already in an alliance with the Congress. Stalin was, in fact, the first leader to endorse Congress president Rahul Gandhi for prime minister.

Last April too, KCR had met MK Stalin regarding his federal front idea. KCR had even met Stalin's father M Karunanidhi in 2018 and sought the DMK's support for the federal front.

However, despite this, the DMK continued its alliance with the Congress for the 2019 Lok Sabha election.

Reports suggest that KCR had left for Chennai with his family on Sunday on a chartered flight.

KCR has also planned meetings with Karnataka chief minister and JD(S) leader HD Kumaraswamy, apart from Trinamool Congress (TMC) and West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee.

YCRCP leader Jagan Mohan Reddy is already a part of the federal front.

Reports also came in that the Congress had reached out to both the TRS and the YSRCP for informal talks to discuss a post-poll alliance. But the two parties had remained non-committal.

KCR is batting for an ambitious federal front, which is a coalition of non-BJP, non-Congress parties at the Centre.