New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday (May 23) congratulated YSR Congress chief YS Jaganmohan Reddy on the "remarkable" win in the Andhra Pradesh Assembly polls.

Taking to Twitter, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said, "Congratulations on the remarkable win in Andhra Pradesh. Best wishes to you for a successful tenure."

The YSR Congress on Thursday (May 23) appeared on course for an overwhelming victory in Andhra Pradesh with its candidates leading in 150 seats, dealing a knockout blow to the Chandrababu Naidu-led Telugu Desam Party.

Jaganmohan Reddy-led YSRCP was racing ahead across the state from the time the initial trends started emerging.

The YSRCP also made a clean sweep in the Lok Sabha polls as the party was leading in 24 of the 25 constituencies.

The Assembly and Lok Sabha election results have borne bad news for TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu, who was all set to serve as the chief minister for another term.

In 2014, the TDP had bagged 102 seats while its old ally BJP had won four seats. The YSRCP had won 67 seats while two independents were also elected.