Bengaluru: Lok Sabha election results have put the political future of a number of leaders at stake in Karnataka with veteran Congressmen and JD(S) stalwarts tasting defeat. 

With BJP winning 25 out of 28 seats and Congress and JD(S) managing to win just one seat each, the political career of five veteran leaders is at risk.

In fact, Deve Gowda, former Prime Minister and JD(S) chief, had announced that it was going to be his last election. 

Deve Gowda

Deve Gowda handed over his home turf Hassan to grandson Prajwal Revanna and contested from Tumakuru, against the wishes and support of Congress workers. Even though he was contesting as Congress-JD(S) candidate, before facing the rival camp of BJP, he faced stiff red from his ally Congress. Muddahanumegowda, a Congress leader, even filed his nomination as the rebel candidate and later withdrew it in the last minute. But it is said that Congress leaders worked against Deve Gowda.

Thus Gowda's opponent GS Basavaraj of the BJP secured 5,96,127 votes against Deve Gowda, who got 5,82,788 votes. 

86-year-old Deve Gowda is a 6-time MLA, was Karnataka’s chief minister for two years (1994 to 1996) and Prime Minister for 10 months from June 1996 to April 1997. 

Mallikarjun Kharge

Leader of the Indian National Congress, Mallikarjun Kharge, is a 10-time MLA and a two-time MP. Kharge lost his fortress Kalaburagi, after 50 years, to his former party colleague Umesh Jadhav of the BJP. Jadhav was opposing Kharge when in Congress and had repeatedly expressed disappointment over dictatorial attitude of Mallikarjun Kharge and his son Priyank Kharge. 

In the Lok Sabha elections, he was defeated by Jadhav by 95,168 votes. Thus Jadhav's entry into Kharge's fort in Kalaburagi has made it difficult for the 77-year-old politician to regain his hold over the constituency. Next election, Priyank might have a chance of contesting, but Kharge’s chances seem slim.

KH Muniyappa

Congressman KH Muniyappa's candidature was opposed from the beginning, not only by ally JD(S) but also by fellow Congressmen. Muniyappa is a 7-time MLA and there was disappointment about his working style in Kolar. Party fielded him despite strong opposition from party members. Referring to KH Muniyappa, JD(S) leader V Muniyappa said that people had an aversion.

However, there is a strong anti-incumbency against 71-year-old Muniyappa (4,99,144), who lost to S Muniswamy (7,09,165) of the BJP. 

Veerappa Moily

Veerappa Moily was the chief minister of Karnataka from 1992 to 1994. He has served as the Cabinet minister in the Centre and was holding the position of member of Parliament from Chikkaballapur constituency from 2009. He was re-elected in 2014. But this time, along with the opposition to his candidacy from Congress, he also faced anti-incumbency with Vokkaligas (one of the dominant communities in Karnataka) not extending support. 79-year-old Moily was defeated by BN Bache Gowda of the BJP by a margin of 1,82,110 votes.

VS Ugrappa

Ugrappa was elected as MP in the by-election to Lok Sabha held last year. 64-year-old Ugrappa had a disadvantage this time as Y Devendrappa was fielded by the BJP. Devenadrappa is a relative of disgruntled Congress leader Ramesh Jarkiholi. Thus, being in the party, Jarkiholi is said to have worked against Ugrappa, which made sure he lost the election with a larger margin than 50,000 votes. Ugrappa secured 5,60,681 votes and Devendrappa secured 6,16,388 votes.