Amaravathi: While the YSRCP has garnered 24,613 votes in the Kuppam assembly constituency, TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu is ahead with 29,480 votes.

The Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh took place on April 11, 2019, which was held simultaneously with the 17th Lok Sabha election.

Kuppam is one of the key constituencies in the state with YSR Congress Party’s K Chandramouli, BJP candidate Tulasi Nath and Congress’s BR Suresh Babu taking on Chandrababu Naidu of the TDP. Naidu has defeated the Indian National Congress five times since 1989 in Kuppam. In 2014, he defeated the YSR Congress Party’s candidate as well.

The fate of this constituency will be announced on May 23. Naidu had named the Assembly election as “Mission 150 Plus” in March 2019, with his party aiming to win a minimum of 150 seats out of 175 seats in the Assembly. The results are awaited to determine whether Naidu’s “Mission 150 Plus” will be a success or not.

Andhra Pradesh had recorded 65.96% voter turnout till 6pm on April 11. Polls were conducted for 175 Assembly seats and 25 Lok Sabha constituencies in the first phase of the election.

The YSRCP is currently leading with 145 seats, while TDP stands at 29 out of 175 seats.