Shivamogga: In Shivamogga constituency, sitting MP BY Raghavendra took the lead with a difference of over 1 lakh votes after the sixth round of counting.

After the seventh round of counting, Raghavendra led by 1,17,549 votes after securing 3,69,354 votes against Madhu who managed to get 2,52,223 votes.

By the end of counting of the sixth round, Raghavendra had secured 2,91,329 votes and Madhu Bangarappa had received 97,457 votes. This constituency is considered high-profile as both the BJP and Congress-JD(S) candidates are sons of former chief ministers of Karnataka.

Raghavendra is the son of BJP state president BS Yeddyurappa and Madhu is the son of S Bangarappa.

Madhu had recently lost the assembly election against his brother Kumar Bangarappa, who was the BJP candidate. Madhu lost by nearly 12,000 votes against Kumar.

BY Raghavendra had defeated Madhu's father S Bangarappa in 2009 Lok Sabha elections. Raghavendra had won by a margin of 52,893 votes.

In 2014, Yeddyurappa won the Lok Sabha election against Congress' Manjunath Bhandary, but resigned from his post in 2018. In the by-election, Raghavendra won the seat for BJP by securing 4,89,959 votes. He had defeated Madhu Bangarappa by 47,388 votes.