Hyderabad: During the 17th Lok Sabha election, Telangana went to polls on April 11. The fate of the TRS and AIMIM hangs in the balance until the results are announced on May 23.

Asaduddin Owaisi is up against BJP candidate Bhagavanth Rao and INC candidate Firoz Khan in Hyderabad. Owaisi received 3,07,430 votes, and BJP received 1,91,521 votes.

Congress candidate Firoz Khan is trailing far behind and has secured 34,201 votes so far while the TRS candidate has taken the third position after receiving 44,597 votes.

After the TRS enjoyed a thumping victory in the State Assembly polls, the party is now hopeful of winning 16 seats, with the belief that Owaisi will win in Hyderabad again.

Hyderabad Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 17 Lok Sabha constituencies in Telangana. The delimitation of Hyderabad Lok Sabha constituency took place in 2008. After the delimitation, minorities (Muslims chiefly) constitute 65% of its population.

Hyderabad constituency reportedly has 18.22 lakh voters. Since 1989, the AIMIM has reigned supreme.

However, the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) in Telangana is ahead of its rivals in 11 Lok Sabha constituencies among the total 17, according to trends provided by the Election Commission.