Kannur:  As the counting of the Lok Sabha poll progresses, the UDF has taken the lead in Dharmadam, the constituency of the chief minister Pinarayi Vijayan. Kannur Lok Sabha constituency comprises seven assembly segments including Taliparamba, Irikkur, Azhikode, Kannur, Dharmadam, Mattannur and Peravoor.

The UDF is ahead in 19 out of the 20 Lok Sabha seats in Kerala. AM Arif of LDF has taken the lead in Alappuzha. The exit polls had foretold that the UDF will bag more than half the seats in the state.

K Sudhakaran led by 2819 votes after the second round of counting was completed in Dharmadam constituency and is performing well in the Left’s fortress. Sudhakaran is also leading in Irikkur, Peravoor, Azheekod and Kannur constituencies.

After 20.29% votes were counted, Sudhakaran is leading by 18323 votes and PK Sreemati of LDF has obtained 88,485 votes. Sreemati is leading in Thaliparambu and Mattanur. She has the lead in Thaliparambu by 1400 votes and by 200 votes in Mattanur.

The Congress has advanced rapidly everywhere with its allies.

In the Wayanad constituency, Congress president Rahul Gandhi has surged ahead.

The BJP candidate in Thiruvananthapuram has fallen behind to the second position behind Congress candidate, Shashi Tharoor. After leading in seven constituencies initially, the Left candidates have slipped to the second position in many segments.