Bengaluru: Congress-JD(S) coalition faced humiliating defeat in the Karnataka Lok Sabha election as the BJP won in 25 of the 28 constituencies, not counting the seat won by the independent candidate Sumalatha, who was supported by the party. The Congress and JD(S) were left with only one seat each to show for their win.

BJP contested in 27 seats and supported independent candidate Sumalatha in Mandya. Whereas, Congress contested in 21 and JD(S) in seven seats in Karnataka, under the seat-sharing agreement of the coalition.

But the coalition government's strategy of fighting the election together did not transform into votes as party workers were not taken into consideration while making the seat-sharing agreement.

This led to chaos in most places and workers of Congress and JD(S) refused to back each other's candidates.

However, the results are now out the Congress and JD(S) who expected more than 10 seats, ended up with one seat each.

Currently, the sole seat won by the JD(S) is under threat as the winning candidate from Hassan is contemplating quitting his seat to give his grandfather, former Prime Minister Deve Gowda, a chance at gaining a seat in Lok Sabha.

Reacting to the defeat, Karnataka CM and JD(S) leader HD Kumaraswamy and Karnataka Congress Legislature Party (CLP) leader and former CM Siddaramaiah have accepted defeat. Here is what they had to say.


“I wholeheartedly thank all the workers of coalition parties for the support and cooperation during the elections.

Leaders of both parties of coalition will hold a discussion about the loss of JDS-Congress coalition candidates.

Our party has seen many victories & losses over the years and party workers need not lose heart on this loss. Let us strive to strengthen the party in the days ahead

The results of Loksabha Elections 2019 are unexpected. I respect the mandate of the people and congratulate Prime Minister Shri @narendramodi for emerging victorious for the second time.” (sic)


"Winning & losing is an integral part of our electoral politics & this is the beauty of democratic process. Though the loss was unexpected, we humbly accept people's mandate. I thank all those who supported our candidates & our fight will continue.

I congratulate all those who are elected from Karnataka. Irrespective of the party, they will become the representatives of our state.

I wish them the best to represent Karnataka in one voice & protect the interests of our people in the Parliament.

Congress has convened an informal meeting with its MLAs and JD(S) has convened a Cabinet meeting to discuss the further course of action.

Meanwhile, in the informal meeting it was decided that Congress and JD(S) will continue to be in coalition and Kumaraswamy will continue as the chief minister of Karnataka.”