Hyderabad: During the 17th Lok Sabha election, Telangana went to polls on April 11. The fate of the the TRS and AIAMIM hangs in the balance until the results are announced on May 23.

In Hyderabad Lok Sabha constituency, Asaduddin Owaisi is up against BJP candidate Bhagavanth Rao and INC candidate Firoz Khan. After the TRS enjoyed a thumping victory in the State Assembly polls, the party is now hopeful of winning 16 seats, with the belief that Owaisi will win in Hyderabad again.

Hyderabad Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 17 Lok Sabha constituencies in Telangana. The delimitation of Hyderabad Lok Sabha constituency took place in 2008. After the delimitation, minorities (Muslims chiefly) constitute 65% of its population.

Hyderabad constituency reportedly has 18.22 lakh voters. Since 1989, the AIMIM has reigned supreme.