Amaravati: Four members of the opposition, Telugu Desam Party (TDP), were on Thursday (July 25) suspended from the Andhra Pradesh Assembly for a day after they tried to disrupt proceedings of the House.

Velagapudi Ramakrishna Babu, Vasupalli Ganesh Kumar, Bendalam Ashok and D Bala Veeranjaneyulu were suspended from the House, and House marshals evicted them after legislative affairs minister Buggana Rajendranath moved a motion for their suspension for the day.

The remaining TDP members, led by opposition leader N Chandrababu Naidu, staged a walkout protesting the suspension of their fellow legislators.

This came a day after the BJP national general secretary Ram Madhav claimed that the ruling YSR Congress Party and the TDP made no contribution to the state.

In the Assembly, the TDP members tried to disrupt proceedings when chief minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy was speaking on the utilisation of river water and the recent agreement between Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.

Two days ago, three deputy leaders of TDP were suspended for the duration of the session for obstructing proceedings.

On Tuesday (July 23), Rajendranath urged the deputy Speaker Kona Raghupathi to suspend Atchannaidu Kinjarapu (Tekkali), Gorantla Butchaiah Chowdary (Rajahmundry Rural) and Nimmala Ramanaidu (Palacole) from the Assembly Budget session. The legislative affairs minister claimed that the three MLAs were stalling Assembly proceedings deliberately.