Hyderabad: K Chandrashekhar Rao-led Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) is poised for a comfortable win in the state, as the party is leading in 9 out of the total 17 Lok Sabha seats. However, the TRS earlier claimed that their party would win as many as 16 seats while the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) retained the Hyderabad Parliamentary constituency.

In Nizamabad Lok Sabha constituency, Telangana chief minister K Chandrashekar Rao’s daughter Kalvakuntla Kavitha secured 3,99,316 votes whereas BJP candidate Aravind Dharmapuri secured 4,69,922 votes making it to the finish line.

In Hyderabad Lok Sabha constituency, All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) leader and sitting MP Asaduddin Owaisi once again retained the seat after securing 5,17,239 votes. Owaisi was followed by BJP candidate Bhagavanth Rao, who secured 2,35,056 votes letting the AIMIM leader retain his constituency.

Earlier, Rao had claimed that his party would sweep all the Lok Sabha seats in Telangana, and was looking to have a firm hold in case the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) falls short of numbers to form the government.

However, this will not be the case as the NDA is leading with 349 seats. It is unlikely that the TRS will play a role in national politics this time. Rao has been advocating and trying to form a Federal Front with other regional parties, for which he went about meeting several state-level leaders of different political parties since last year.

In 2014 Lok Sabha election, TRS won 11 seats, followed by the Congress winning two seats, BJP 1, Telugu Desam Party (TDP) 1, YSRCP and AIMIM 1 each in the state. Subsequently, MPs from the TDP, YSRCP and one from Congress defected to the TRS. The party subsequently swept the Assembly polls in December 2018.