Thiruvananthapuram: The last time UDF had won in Attingal was all the way back in 1989, when the constituency was called Chirayinkil. UDF’s Thalekunnil Basheer had emerged victorious over CPM’s Susheela Gopalan.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha election, Adoor Prakash had secured 3,80,995 votes while A Sampath received only 3,42,748 votes. Shobha Surendran of the NDA trailed behind, but with a sizeable number of 2,48, 081 votes.

The sitting MP, Sampath was shocked after his defeat. He had won thrice, earlier. Right from the beginning of counting, Prakash had maintained a steady lead and soared ahead later.

In 2014, Sampath had a lead in all seven assembly constituencies against UDF’s Bindu Krishna. This time, however, the UDF wave was clearly visible, as seen in the voting patterns during the Lok Sabha election.

Prakash had a clear lead in all of the seven Assembly constituencies, except Nedumangadu, which was in favour of the Left where his opponent had a lead of 759 votes.

Halfway through counting, the LDF were confident as they had won six out of the seven seats in 2016 Assembly elections, but fortunes favoured the UDF.

Prakash attributed his win to the “dedicated work put up by the UDF workers in the constituency.”