The 17th Lok Sabha will feature plenty of fresh faces. From among them, there is a significant number of women MPs too, who will look to make their mark in the parliament. This year’s Lok Sabha also has the highest number of women representatives. Here is a list of first-time women members of parliament worth watching out  for in the Lok Sabha:

1.Bengali actor Mimi Chakraborty won from West Bengal’s Jadhavpur constituency, contesting from Trinamool Congress. She gained her maiden win by a margin of 2.95 lakh votes over Anupam Hazra of the BJP. She was a victim of trolls for her cinematic background.

2.Wife of late actor and former union minister, Ambareesh, Sumalatha Ambareesh contested as an independent candidate backed by the BJP’s support in Karnataka. She won by a margin of 126,000 votes, defeating Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy’s son, Nikhil Kumaraswamy. The former actor contested from Mandya, which was one of the most intense battlegrounds for the elections in Karnataka.

3.Chandrani Murmu is the youngest MP in the history of the Lok Sabha.  The 25-year-old tribal woman from Odisha contested from Keonjhar in Odisha on a BJP ticket. She is the granddaughter of former MP Hariharan Soren. Murmu has a B.Tech degree from an engineering college based in Bhubaneshwar. Her priorities as an MP will be to educate the masses, set up a new railway line between Keonjhar and Bhubaneshwar, as well as to set up a steel plant.

 4.Pragya Thakur, an accused in the Malegaon blast case, won the Bhopal seat as a part of the BJP, defeating Congress leader Digvijaya Singh. She has promised better employment, farmer pension, better air connectivity. Her infamous comments on slain Mumbai cop, Hemant Karkare and her statement calling Mahatma Gandhi’s assassin Nathuram Godse a patriot were followed by intense controversy as well as an inquiry which was initiated by the BJP.

5.32-year old Dalit, Ramya Haridas, battled against sexist remarks as well as character assassination attempts to emerge as the only woman MP from Kerala in 2019. She won with a margin of more than one lakh votes from the Alathur constituency contesting from the Congress party. Ramya is only the second Dalit woman MP from Kerala. She defeated two-time MP PK Biju, who was a CPI(M) candidate. She is also a singer and a dancer.