Hyderabad: The Telangana Jana Samithi (TJS) on Wednesday announced that it will contest in 12 constituencies. These include Dubbaka, Medak, Malkajgiri, Amberpet, Siddipet, Warangal East, Vardhannapeta, Asifabad, Station Ghanpur, Jangaon, Mahabubnagar and Miryalguda. The vice president of TJS PL Vishweshwar Rao announced on Wednesday that these are the strong areas for their party. This announcement was made prior to the discussion of the seat arrangement with the ‘Mahakutami’ (grand alliance of opposition parties in Telangana including Congress, TDP, TJS, etc). 

This announcement was made after M Kodandaram, TJS leader, demanded 17 seats on November 2 from Congress president Rahul Gandhi. CPI had also made a similar announcement of 9 seats. Earlier, the Congress, being the head of the alliance, had announced that it will be contesting 93 seats, Telugu Desam Party will contest 14 seats, TJS - 8 seats and 3 seats for CPI. 

Congress has announced 75 candidates so far, while CPI has announced 9. The latter has blamed the delay on holding a unilateral decision on seat sharing. According to the list given by Congress, chief spokesperson Sravan Dasoju will be contesting against Danam Nagender in Khairatabad and KK Mahender Reddy against the IT minister KT Rama Rao in Sircilla. TDP has announced 11 candidates for the 14 seats provided. These include Sama Ranga Reddy for Ibrahimpatnam and Ganesh Gupta for Rajendranagar.