New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi has been honoured with this year's Seoul Peace Prize for his contribution to world peace through his economic vision. The Prime Minister won the award for his contributions to the growth of the Indian and global economies, and for 'Modinomics' for reducing the social and economic disparity between the rich and the poor.

Also read: Prime Minister Narendra Modi conferred Seoul Peace Prize for his economic vision

What is the Seoul Peace Prize?

The Seoul Peace Prize was established to reflect the wishes of the Korean people and to crystallize their desire for everlasting peace on earth. 

Established in 1990, it is a biennial recognition with a monetary award to commemorate the success of the 24th Summer Olympic Games held in Seoul, Korea. 

160 nations from across the world took part in the Games, creating harmony and friendship.

Previous winners

Previous recipients of the award include German Chancellor Angela Merkel, late and former United Nations Secretary-General Kofi Annan and his successor Ban Ki-Moon, among others.

Complete list

No automatic alt text available.

Who is the prize awarded to?

The Seoul Peace Prize is awarded to people who have made their mark through contributions to the harmony of mankind, reconciliation between nations and to world peace.

How is the winner selected?

The nominating group consists of 300 Korean nationals and 800 internationals. 

The nominators should send back the forms after filling in the name of their candidates and their achievements three months before the advised date for the award giving ceremony. 

The final winner is selected through a vote by members of the committee.

What do the winners get?

The awardee receives a diploma, a plaque, and honorarium of US $200,000.