After being denied a ticket for the upcoming Rajasthan Assembly elections, the state minister Surendra Goyal resigned from the Bharatiya Janata Party on Monday. 

The five-term MLA submitted his resignation in a two-line letter to state BJP president Madan Lal Saini, according to reports. 

The Hindustan Times reported that Goyal was replaced Avinash Gehlot from Jaitaran seat in Pali district.

Goyal, who used to hold the water resources portfolio, may contest as an independent from the seat.

The BJP announced its candidates for 131 of the 200 seats on November 11 night.

Senior party leader JP Nadda, released the first list of candidates after a meeting of the BJP central election committee which was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, party president Amit Shah and other top leaders. 

The party has also fielded its Lok Sabha MP Sona Ram Choudhary in the Assembly poll and given tickets to 12 women, 32 youth, 17 SC and 19 ST candidates.

Rajasthan is scheduled to go for the election on December 7.