Kochi: The three-member monitoring committee appointed by the Kerala high court in Sabarimala has presented a report to the high court stating one year's time is required to implement the Supreme Court verdict.

The report also said that one year would be required for setting up basic infrastructure in Sabarimala on account of the fact that more women are likely to go to Sabarimala following the Supreme Court order allowing women of all ages entry into the temple.

All facilities including toilets and other infrastructure facilities have to be implemented in Sabarimala so maximum one year is necessary for the implementation, the report said.

The committee made this clear in response to a petition filed by people including a young woman Reshma Nishanth, seeking to provide police security to visit Sabarimala.

The committee also said that the police security should also be arranged on the forest way because Pamba was completely destroyed in the floods.

Earlier, an Ayyappa devotee was killed in a wild elephant attack on the forest pathway to the Sabarimala shrine. The victim was identified as Tamil Nadu’s Paramasivam.

The incident happened on the night of January 8 at Sabarimala kanana patha (forest route). The elephant attacked the 35-year-old Paramasivam, a native of Salem, at the traditional path to Karimala.

The attack by the elephant happened at the route usually taken by Ayyappa devotees who perform petta thullal at Erumeli and reach Sannidhanam via Karimala. Nineteen more pilgrims were travelling to the shrine with Paramasivam.

Earlier, the Sabarimala Observatory Committee has reviewed the basic facilities in Nilakkal and Pamba. The panel expressed satisfaction over the essential amenities in Nilakkal but they didn’t respond to the situation in Pamba.

Though the toilets in Pamba are 60, less than the required number, the committee spoke about the need for more toilets.

The Devaswom Board and the Kerala government officers were ready to give their inputs to the panel, the committee said it would collect first-hand information.

The committee consists of judges PR Raman and S Sirijagan and DGP A Hemachandran.