Bengaluru: Karnataka chief minister HD Kumaraswamy on Tuesday expressed confidence that the Congress-JD(S) alliance would win all 28 Lok Sabha seats in the state next year.

Despite winning only one of the five by-polls, state BJP president BS Yeddyurappa said the party would claim majority of the seats in 2019 Lok Sabha polls and re-elect Narendra Modi as the Prime Minister.

Kumaraswamy, elated by the by-poll results where the Congress-JD(S) partnership won four out  of the five seats, said that the alliance will continue for 2019 general elections.

"We will win all the 28 seats in the Lok Sabha elections to be conducted next year,” declared Kumaraswamy while addressing a press conference after the by-election results were announced.

“We will not take the victories to our head, but will work towards giving popular programmes to the people of the state. This victory is a message for us to administer with more responsibility," he said.

By-elections were held for Ballari, Shivamogga and Mandya Lok Sabha constituencies and Jamkhandi and Ramanagara Assembly seats. Congress-JD(S) won Ballari, Mandya, Ramanagara and Jamkhandi constituencies whereas BJP managed to win only Shivamogga.

Speaking about Shivamogga JD(S) candidate Madhu Bangarappa, Kumaraswamy said that Madhu was asked to return from abroad and was made the candidate in a hurry.

“We did not get ample time to prepare. But the small margin of difference has given us the confidence that we can win Shivamogga constituency the next time,” he said.

Meanwhile, Yeddyurappa spoke at an event organised to congratulate his son BY Raghavendra, who won the Shivamogga Lok Sabha constituency by-election by defeating Madhu.

“Though BJP could not win most of the constituencies this by-election, our aim is to win maximum seats in the coming Lok Sabha elections. We will win the majority of seats and will re-elect PM Narendra Modi to power,” he said as he congratulated son Raghavendra for the win.

 Further reacting to the victory of alliance, Yeddyurappa said that both Congress and JD(S) have attained the result by distributing cash and liquor to the voters.