Kozhikode: BJP state president Sreedharan Pillai has claimed that 12 leaders from other parties will join the party on Monday. The identity of these 12 leaders has not been revealed yet. Though CPM and Congress said that no one would leave their party, both the camps have several concerns after Sreedharan Pillai's revelation.

Pillai further added that a former district president of SFI, former DCC secretary and local convenors of LDF will join the BJP. He also said that the membership process has been completed and that everyone is waiting for the official confirmation. Pillai continued to say that Amit Shah has already made all the decisions. Pillai was speaking during a function at Kozhikode, Kerala.

ALSO READ: As Sabarimala gate opens today, will thantri, devotees stop women again from entering shrine?

Sreedharan Pillai had earlier said that a senior leader will join the BJP.

A Congress councillor of Palakkad municipality resigned from his post just before a no-confidence motion against the BJP's municipality chairperson and vice chairperson was moved. Congress councillor V Saravanan resigned just before the no-confidence motion was set to be discussed at 9 am on Monday. The no-confidence motion will fail as the opposition has lost a member.

To pass the no-confidence motion, the opposition needs the support of 27 members. They also need the support of CPM members and Welfare members to pass the motion. If anyone's vote becomes invalid, then the no-confidence motion will fail.

CPM has not yet clarified its stand. The chairperson suspended five Congress members during the previous municipality elections.