Hyderabad: Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) president K Chandrashekar Rao (KCR) was sworn in as the chief minister of Telangana for the second consecutive term. The governor ESL Narasimhan administered the oath of office and secrecy to KCR on Thursday.

TRS won 88 seats out of 119 constituencies in the Assembly elections that were held on December 7. The only minister to be inducted into the KCR's cabinet now is Mohammad Mahmood Ali. He is one of the long-time associates of KCR and a member of the Telangana Legislative Council. Ali has been given the powerful Home portfolio.

Ali was the Revenue Minister in KCR's cabinet during the first term.

As per the rule, only 15% of the elected members of the total strength in the Assembly can be made ministers. KCR can have 18 in his cabinet.

It is speculated that Ali has been chosen to appease the Muslim vote base. As there are only 17 seats left, it is a challenge to KCR to appease all the sections and communities, so that the government runs smoothly.

But as Congress-TDP-CPM-TJS party alliance 'Praja Kutami' has managed to get only 21 seats, KCR has no strong opposition and that means there is no imminent threat to the TRS government.

However, the lone Muslim MLA Shakeel Aamir who was re-elected from the Bodhan constituency is not likely to get any ministry as Ali has already been given the representation for the community.

Reports said that out of 88 elected MLAs from TRS, two hold PhDs, 24 are postgraduates, and 44 have completed graduation including five engineers, four doctors and nine lawyers. TRS has set a record for having more educated representatives in the Assembly, according reports. KCR has said that he will announce the full list of ministers soon.