The Congress has suspended 19 youth leaders for failing to be active in party activities. Thus, leaders of 10 districts have been issued a suspension notice.

The concerned youth presidents have not responded to any of the letters sent by Congress leaders asking them to cite  reasons for their inaction. Thus action has been taken against the leaders concerned, clarified youth Congress national general secretary Ravindradas. 

Congress youth presidents Raghuveer Gowda (Bengaluru City), Mahesh Kumar (Bengaluru Town) Mithun Raii (Dakshina Kannada), Manthar Gowda (Hassan), Karthik B Patil (Belagavi Rural), Nagaraj (Bellari Rural), Ashoka Mandali (Gadag), Sharana Basavaraj (Koppal), Mohammed Haneef (Kodagu), Anil Kumar (Ramanagar) have been suspended.

Along with them, vice president of youth unit of Congress, Rajendra Rajanna, secretaries Arun Kumar, R Kiran, Nazir Khan, Praveen S Patil, Sandip B, Sandeep Naik, Shivashankar and Byregowda also have been suspended. 

Meanwhile, reports stated that former party youth president Mithun Rai was a ticket aspirant for MLA seat from Moodubidri. But party gave the ticket to veteran leader Abhayachandra Jain and Rai was seen refraining from party activities since then.