Karnataka urban local bodies election is out with Congress winning 982 seats and BJP not far behind with 929 seats, whereas JD(S) managed to win 375 seats.  Out of a total of 2,662 seats, the rest of the seats were won by others.

Despite the lead taken by Congress, the BJP felt its victory was satisfactory as it won with majority in seven districts including the coastal districts of Udupi and Dakshina Kannada. "BJP has won 22 seats in Mysuru City Corporation and has given a tough fight in Tumakuru too. But we did not get expected results in some places. But when compared to Congress JD(S) coalition and money power, our results in the urban local body elections are satisfactory," said Karnataka BJP President BS Yeddyurappa. 

Congress won with a majority in 10 districts including Ballari, Bidar, Gadag, Mysuru, Uttara Kannada and Raichur.

Elections were held on August 31 in 29 city municipalities, 53 town municipalities, 23 town panchayats and 3 city corporations. A total of 9,121 candidates were in fray.

In 2013, out of a total of 4,976 seats, Congress had won 1,960 seats, BJP and the JD(S) had won 905 seats each, while independents won 1,206 seats.

Here are the results in detail:

Out of 29 city municipalities, BJP won 15 seats, Congress 9 and JDS 3 seats. In town municipalities, out of 53 seats, BJP won 11 seats, Congress 28 and JD(S) won 8 seats. In town panchayats, out of 23 seats, BJP won 8 seats, Congress 9 and JDS won 2 seats. In city corporations, out of three seats, BJP is the only party  to win one seat, whereas the other two have been taken by independent candidates.   

Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy has said that JD(S) will join hands with Congress where there is no clear mandate.