New Delhi: The Election Commission on Saturday said that polls in five states — Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Mizoram and Telangana — will be wound up by mid-December. The poll results will be out on December 11.

Chief election commissioner OP Rawat said that the model code of conduct will be effective from Saturday in Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Mizoram as well as Telangana.

The election schedule is as follows


Will be held in two phases

Southern Chhattisgarh: 18 seats

Notification: October 16   

Date for filing nomination: October 23

Date for scrutiny of nomination papers: October 24

Date for withdrawal of nomination papers: October 26

Poll date: November 12

North Chhattisgarh: 72 seats

Notification: October 26

Nomination: November 2 

Date for scrutiny: November 3 

Poll date: November 12 

Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram

Both the states will have single phase elections and will follow the same schedule

Notification: November 2

Nomination: November 9 

Date for scrutiny: November 12

Withdrawal of nominations: November 14

Poll date: November 28

Rajasthan and Telangana 

Both the states will have single-phase elections and will follow the same schedule

Notification: November 12

Nomination: November 19

Date for scrutiny: November 20

Withdrawal of nominations: November 22

Poll date: December 7

5 big announcements made during the press conference 

1. Ceiling for Assembly expenditure in Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan at Rs 28 lakh, while for Mizoram, it is Rs 20 lakh

2. Voters' assistance booths will be set up by the poll panel in all constituencies.

3. The Election Commission's theme this year is 'Accessible Elections'. The panel has launched photo voter slips in Braille.

4. Karnataka — Bypolls to three Lok Sabha and two Assembly seats will be held on November 3

5. Changes in nomination procedure and advertisements according to the Supreme Court order to check criminalisation of politics.