New Delhi: Delhi Metro's pink line between Trilokpuri Sanjay Lake to Shiv Vihar is all set to open to the public on October 31.

"The Trilokpuri Sanjay Lake - Shiv Vihar Metro section of the Delhi Metro's Pink Line will be formally flagged off for passenger operations on October 31 by union minister for housing and urban affairs, Hardeep Singh Puri, and deputy chief minister, Delhi Manish Sisodia,” said a senior Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) spokesperson.

The spokesperson also said that the section will be flagged off via remote from the Metro Bhawan. The passenger services on this route will commence from 2 pm on the same day. 

"The main highlight of this section will be the presence of three interchange stations - Anand Vihar and Karkardooma (with Blue Line) and Welcome (with Red Line). Once this section becomes operational, the Delhi Metro will be 313.86 km long," the spokesperson added.

The pink line, which is elevated at a height of 17.86 km, will have 15 stations and they are — Shiv Vihar, Johri Enclave, Gokulpuri, Maujpur- Babarpur, Jaffrabad, Welcome, East Azad Nagar, Krishna Nagar, Karkardooma Court, Karkardooma, Anand Vihar ISBT, IP Extension, West Vinod Nagar, Mandawali, Mayur Vihar- II, East Vinod Nagar, Trilokpuri Sanjay Lake.

After the opening of this new section, the Delhi Metro network will expand to nearly 314 km.

Once inaugurated, it will leave just the Lajpat Nagar-Trilokpuri corridor unopened.

Incidentally, a small section near Trilokpuri is facing a roadblock, due to issues raised by local residents, which the metro has been resolving for a long time.

The Shiv Vihar-Trilokpuri Sanjay Lake stretch is part of the 59 km-long Majlis Park-Shiv Vihar corridor (Pink Line) which falls under the Phase-III network of the DMRC.

On August 6, the Majlis Park-Lajpat Nagar corridor was inaugurated, taking the Pink Line span to 29.66 km, and the entire operational span of the DMRC to 296 km with 214 stations.

The first corridor of the Pink Line, spanning over 20 km, from Majlis Park to Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus, was opened on March 14, connecting north and south campuses of the Delhi University on the DMRC network for the first time.

With inputs from PTI