Raipur: Chhattisgarh's newly formed Congress government has renamed the the five schemes introduced by the BJP-led government after former Prime Ministers Indira Gandhi, Rajiv Gandhi, and also after BR Ambedkar. The order to rename the schemes was issued on Monday night, a senior government official told PTI.

The previous BJP government had brought in schemes of urban administration and development, named after the late Jan Sangh leader Pandit Deendayal Upadhyaya. These schemes have been renamed, much to the disappointment of the BJP. The saffron party expressed unhappiness, saying the step indicated nothing but "political vindictiveness".

The order states that

1. Pt Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Swavlamban Yojna has now been renamed as Rajiv Gandhi Swavlamban Yojna.

2. Pt Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Sarvasamaj Manglik Bhavan Yojna will now be known as Dr B R Ambedkar Sarvasamaj Manglik Bhavan Yojna.

3. Pt Deen Dayal Upadhyaya LED Path Prakash Yojna has been rechristened as Indira Priyadarshini LED Path Prakash Yojna.

4. Pt Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Ajivika Kendra Yojna which is a livelihood centre will now be Rajiv Gandhi Ajivika Kendra Yojna.

5. Pt Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Shuddh Peyjal Yojna, for clean drinking water will be changed to Indira Priyadarshini Shudhh Peyjal Yojna.

Former chief minister and senior BJP leader Raman Singh said they would protest against the government's move during the ongoing session of the Chhattisgarh Assembly.

"The state government deliberately rechristened schemes named after Pt Deendayal Upadhyayaji on his death anniversary, which was observed on February 11. This reflects Congress' mentality," Raman Singh said in a statement. He also added that he wanted to know what the incumbent government had done to make these schemes better.

In December 2018, the Congress came to power in Chhattisgarh, ending a 15-year BJP rule. The Congress won 68 seats in the 90-member Assembly, while the BJP managed only 15 seats. Bhupesh Baghel took over as chief minister after Singh handed his resignation to the governor after the election results.