BJP will return to power in 2019 with bigger majority than in 2014, said BJP national president Amit Shah at the two-day national executive meet of the  party in New Delhi.

He said that Narendra Modi government was 'making India' while Congress was trying to break it. 

He lauded the Modi government for developing the country and said that India has surpassed France in terms of economy. BJP government is ruling 75% of the country while being in power in 19 states, he said.

Lashing out at the Congress and the alleged third front, he said, the grand alliance that is called mahagathbandhan is just an illusion and called it myth. He accused the opposition of trying to spread misinformation and confusion about the SC/ST Act. But this will not affect BJP's image in the 2019 elections, he said.

Union Minister Nirmala Sitharaman called the opposition a disruption and alleged that it was not representing the voice of the people.

Shah expressed confidence of easily winning the 19 states BJP is in power. In addition, he said West Bengal, Odisha and Telangana also will be won by BJP due to anti-incumbency factor.

Moving on to the national register of citizens, he said that strict action will be taken to make sure no illegal immigrant will enter India.

He lashed out at former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and said he just followed the leader whereas Modi led the party. He also attacked Congress leader P Chidambaram for criticising Modi government's economic policies including demonetisation.

Following the closed-door meeting, Nirmala Sitharaman quoted him and said, "If Hindu, Sikh, Buddhist, Christian or Jain refugees from Afghanistan, Pakistan or Bangladesh approach India seeking refuge, the country will not hesitate to help them."

Shah also criticised Congress for stalling triple talaq bill in the Rajya Sabha. Meanwhile, former PM Atal Bihari Vajpayee was remembered during the meet. 

Amit Shah will continue as the BJP president till the 2019 elections as the party deferred its organisational polls, even though his term would end on January 26, 2019. 

BJP's key leaders from all States and Union Territories including Prime Minister Narendra Modi and chief ministers of party-ruled States attended the meeting.

BJP is also expected to prepare its response over the spiralling fuel prices.