New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janta Party expelled 53 rebel party leaders on Thursday, citing indiscipline and anti-party activities.

The expelled leaders include former Union minister Sartaj Singh, ex-minister Ramkrishna Kusmaria and Bhind MLA Narendra Kushwaha.

Singh recently joined the Congress after being denied a nomination by the BJP. He was named the Opposition party’s nominee for the Hoshangabad Assembly seat.

Watch: Former MP minister weeps inconsolably after being denied ticket by BJP

Kusmaria has filed a nomination from Damoh and Pathariya assembly constituencies.

Both the BJP and the Congress have been facing rebellion within the parties over ticket distribution.

The voting for the 230-member Assembly in Madhya Pradesh is due on November 28. The counting of votes will be held on December 11. The BJP is in power in the state since 2003. Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan is seeking a fourth consecutive term in the state.