Vijayawada: YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) chief YS Jaganmohan Reddy took oath as the chief minister of Andhra Pradesh in Vijayawada. He is the second chief minister of Andhra Pradesh after the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.

The Governor of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana, ESL Narasimhan, administered the oath of office and secrecy to the YSRCP chief at 12:23 pm in Indira Gandhi Municipal Stadium in Vijayawada.

Jagan took his YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) to power with a landslide victory in both assembly and Lok Sabha elections, where the results were announced on May 23.

DMK leader MK Stalin and other party leaders participated in the swearing-in ceremony.

However, Telugu Desam Party (TDP) chief and former Andhra Pradesh chief minister, N Chandrababu Naidu, turned down Jaganmohan's invite and decided to send a delegation of party leaders to Jagan Mohan's residence with a congratulatory message.

Authorities had made elaborate arrangements for the event at the stadium, which has a capacity of 30,000 people. Vijayawada Police Commissioner Dwarka Tirumala Rao and senior officials reviewed the security arrangements.