Vellore: The constituency of Vellore in Tamil Nadu underwent polling for the Lok Sabha seat today (August 5) and by evening recorded a voter turnout of 72%. 

A total of 28 candidates are in the fray and the main candidates to look out for are ruling AIADMK's AC Shanmugam and DMK's DM Kathir Anand. 1,400 polling booths have been set up in Vellore.

The election in the Vellore Lok Sabha constituency began at 7:45 am on August 5. Counting of votes will be held on August 9.

On August 4, a CCTV camera, 11 computers, a photocopy and printing machine and a scanner went missing from a polling booth in Gudiyatham.

The Vellore seat comprises six Assembly segments -- Vellore, Anaikattu, Kilvaithinankuppam, Gudiyatham, Vaniyambadi and Ambur.

The Tamil Nadu government declared a holiday in Vellore.

The voting to the constituency scheduled for April 18 was cancelled after a whopping amount of Rs 10 crore was found with the DMK leader in Vellore district.

In the April-May Lok Sabha elections in Tamil Nadu, DMK-Congress alliance won 37 out of 38 seats.

In 2014, the Vellore seat was won by B Senguttuvan of AIADMK and the total voter turnout was 74.3%.