University Grant Commission (UGC) and AICTE, higher education regulatory bodies of India have asked the students not to take admission in institutions of Pakistan-occupied Kashmir (PoK). The authority received information that around two dozen students from Jammu and Kashmir are looking for admission in PoK colleges.

A warning issued by UGC underlining various institutions of PoK which are not fully established and they have been approved from the Indian state. AICTE has also released a similar statement, asking students not to take admissions in unrecognized institutions POK, especially from J&K. The secretary of the UGC, Rajnish Jain said, "Pakistan-occupied Jammu and Kashmir (POJK) is an integral part of India. The educational institutions including universities, medical colleges, and technical institutions situated in POK are neither established by the Indian government nor recognized by statutory authorities including UGC, AICTE and Medical Council of India."

He also said, "The students are therefore cautioned and advised against taking admission in a college, university or technical institution in any territory under the illegal occupation of Pakistan." On the other side, the private school association of Kashmir has objected on just directives. The association said education should not be kept out of politics and students should be let free to choose and take admission anywhere.

Universities in J&K recognized by UGC

There are around nine universities approved by University Grants Commission (UGC) in Jammu and Kashmir state.

1) Central University of Kashmir

2) Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University

3) Baba Ghulam Shah Badshah University

4)Islamic University of Sciences & Technology University

5)Central University of Jammu

6)Jammu University

7)Kashmir University

8)National Institute of Technology

9)Sher-e-Kashmir University of Agricultural Science & Technology


Pakistan occupied Kashmir is a part of Jammu and Kashmir state of India which Pakistan had invaded in 1947. It has been divided into two parts called Azad Jammu and Kashmir and Gilgit-Baltistan.