Dispur: After a series of resignations of Congress leaders from across India following the disastrous Lok Sabha 2019 performance, now it's the turn for the Assam Congress chief. Assam Pradesh Congress Committee president Ripun Bora submitted his resignation letter to Congress president Rahul Gandhi citing the poor performance of the party in the state. 

The Congress won only three seats out of 14 Lok Sabha seats in Assam.

But this is not the first such resignation that came after the rout of the grand old party in the elections. Three state heads of the party have already submitted their resignation for the dismal performances in their respective states. 

1. First to resign was Uttar Pradesh (UP) Congress chief and former actor Raj Babbar. He left on Friday. Incidentally, the Congress had to see its biggest defeat in the state, where it is now down to just one seat, Sonia Gandhi’s Rae Bareilly. Rahul Gandhi suffered a historic and embarrassing loss in the traditional stronghold of Amethi.

2. Amethi’s district Congress president Yogendra Misra also resigned, taking responsibility for having failed to deliver the seat for the party chief.

3. The party’s Karnataka campaign chief HK Patil also resigned. The party was reduced to a single seat out of 28 as the BJP bagged 25. Its coalition partner in state government, JD (S) also got just one seat. The Congress last times in 2014 had nine seats.

4. The next resignation was that of Odisha chief Niranjan Patnaik. The party here too was reduced to just one seat.

But amid this deluge of resignations, the one resignation that wasn't realised was of the party's' lieutenant Rahul Gandhi. Though there were reports of a cosmetic effort to offer his resignation party media cell chief Randip Surjewala rubbished it 

Gandhi On Sunday took back his offer to quit as the Congress President after the Congress Working Committee (CWC) members urged him to continue.