New Delhi: The Supreme Court on Wednesday, deferred the plea of DMK and TTV Dinakaran factions seeking a direction to disqualify Dy CM Panneerselvam & 10 other AIADMK MLAs for voting against the confidence motion moved by CM Edappadi Palaniswami on Feb 2017.

The DMK wanted 11 MLAs, who voted against CM Palaniswami, to be disqualified and the party had moved the Supreme Court on Tuesday seeking an urgent hearing of its plea.

A bench headed by Chief Justice Ranjan Gogoi said that it will consider listing Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam’s petition seeking disqualification of the MLAs, including deputy chief minister O Panneerselvam.

The Madras high court had in April last year declined a plea by the DMK to disqualify the 11 MLAs.

Panneerselvam and the other 10 MLAs, then in the rebel camp, had voted against the trust vote sought by Palaniswami on February 18, 2017.

After the death of former Tamil Nadu chief minister J Jayalalithaa in December 2016, the AIADMK had split into factions.

Panneerselvam, who had led a rebel camp, voted against Palaniswami in a trust vote on February 18, 2017. Shortly later, the two camps merged in a bid to remain in power.

It was after this that TTV Dhinakaran and VK Sasikala decided to form a party of their own by the name Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam (AMMK).

Sasikala is lodged at Parappana Agrahara central prison here ever since her conviction by the Supreme Court in February 2017 in the disproportionate assets case along with her two relatives VN Sudhakaran and Elavarasi, all serving a 4-year jail term.