New Delhi: Tableaux from Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Telangana are among the states that have made it to this year's Republic Day Parade 2020.

Besides these states, defence ministry's list of shortlisted participants also includes the states of Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Chhattisgarh, Goa, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Meghalaya, Tamil Nadu and Uttar Pradesh.


The list also includes names of Department for Promotion of Industry and Internal Trade; Department of Drinking Water and Sanitation; Department of Financial Services; NDRF, Ministry of Home Affairs; CPWD, Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs; and Ministry of Shipping.

Earlier, an official statement said that proposals of 16 states/UTs and six ministries/departments were shortlisted for participation in Republic Day Parade 2020.

There is a well-established system for selection of tableaux for participation in the Republic Day Parade as per which ministry of defence invites proposals for tableau from all states/UTs and Central ministries/departments, read the statement.

The tableaux proposals received from various states/UTs and Central ministries/departments are evaluated in a series of meetings of the expert committee comprising of eminent persons in the field of art, culture, painting, sculpture, music, architecture, choreography etc. The expert committee examines the proposals based on theme, concept, design and its visual impact before making its recommendations.

For Republic Day Parade 2020, a total of 56 tableaux proposals (32 from states/UTs and 24 from Ministries/Departments) were received. Out of these, 22 were shortlisted for participation in the Republic Day Parade 2020 after a series of five meetings.