New Delhi: The Rajya Sabha today passed the Reorganisation Bill 2019, that abolished Article 370 that gave special status to Jammu and Kashmir. In Rajya Sabha 125 people voted in favour of the bill whereas 61 voted against it.

Rajya Sabha has been adjourned till Tuesday 11am.

With the passing of the bill, now Jammu-Kashmir and Ladakh become union territories (UT). While Jammu and Kashmir will be a UT with legislature, Ladakh will not have a legislature.

In the upper House, the NDA-introduced bill was supported by the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), the Biju Janata Dal, the Aam Aadmi Party and the YSR Congress. However, the Congress, the Peoples Democratic Party, the Trinamool Congress and the National Conference voted against it.

President of the Jammu & Kashmir Peoples Democratic Party, Mehbooba Mufti reacted to the same and tweeted: "The overwhelming mandate that Modi ji got had given us hope that like a statesman he too would tread the path taken by Vajpayee ji & reach out to people of J&K. What an utter betrayal of trust."

Currently, former chief minister of Jammu and Kashmir, Mehbooba Mufti has been detained, and taken to a guest house after Article 370 was abolished.  Former chief minister and National Conference chief Omar Abdullahh has also been arrested. 

The Indian Army and Indian Air Force have been put on high alert and section 144 is in effect in sensitive areas of Kashmir. Schools and colleges have been closed until further notice.