Patiala: In a major development, the education department of the Punjab government has decided to rename four government schools of native villages of the state's four martyrs in their name, who attained martyrdom during a fight with the Chinese Army in Galwan Valley.

It should be noted that Naib Subedar Mandeep Singh, Naib Subedar Satnam Singh, Sepoy Gurtej Singh, and Sepoy Gurbinder Singh were among the 20 soldiers killed in Galwan valley.

The district education officers of all the four districts have been informed about the government's decision.

Giving this information, Punjab school education minister Vijay Inder Singla informed that notification regarding renaming the schools is being issued.

The minister also said at Sangrur yesterday (June 20) that soon the Tolawal Village Stadium will be revamped and will also be named after the martyr Gurbinder Singh.

According to a report on Hindustan Times, as a tribute to the bravehearts, the name of primary school at Seel village will now be Shaheed Naib Subedar Mandeep Singh Government Primary School; middle school at Bhojraj village in Gurdaspur will be Shaheed Naib Subedar Satnam Singh; Government School and middle school of Berawal Dogra Mansa will now be Shaheed Gurtej Singh Government Middle School and the name of high school at Tolawal village in Sangrur has been renamed as Shaheed Sepoy Gurbinder Singh High School.

Amarjeet Singh, district education officer (DEO), said it was small gesture to pay tributes to the soldiers for their sacrifice and bravery. He said he had already conveyed the message to the Block Primary Education Officer (BPEO) and village sarpanches to make the necessary changes. The signboards of all these schools would be changed by next week, he added.