Bengaluru: With a view to increasing its members, the Bharatiya Janata Party has taken up a massive membership drive. The drive will be inaugurated by Prime Minister Narendra Modi in his constituency of Varanasi on Friday (July 6), at 11pm.

At the same time, BJP national president and home minister Amit Shah will inaugurate the drive in Telangana.

In Karnataka, it will be inaugurated by Union minister of state for external affairs V Muralidharan and state BJP president BS Yeddyurappa. Former deputy chief minister R Ashoka and MLA Arvind Limbavali will be present as the chief guests.

In Dharwad, parliamentary affairs minister Pralhad Joshi and former Karnataka chief minister Jagadish Shetter will inaugurate the membership drive, while in Mysuru and Ballari, Union minister for chemicals and fertilisers DV Sadananda Gowda, and KS Eshwarappa will inaugurate the drive respectively.

The target in Karnataka

With the launching of the membership drive, Karnataka state alone hopes to garner around 50 lakh people as its members.

Number of karyakartas:

Karnataka BJP has employed the services of 5 lakh karyakartas in this endeavour.

Vistaraks to be appointed

The BJP has also appointed vistaraks. Numbering around 15,000, these vistaraks will ensure they meet several people from July 23 to 30, travelling the length and breadth of the state.

Those vistaraks who ensure they enroll at least 25 members will automatically be elevated as active members of the party. It is expected that at least 2 lakh people will become active members.

 Focus of the membership drive

The focus of the drive will be on those constituencies in which the BJP did not win and also in those constituencies in which it did not get favourable leads.

This membership drive will be carried out on Modi’s slogan “Sabka Saath Sabka Vikaas Sabka Vishwaas”

How to become a member

It’s easy. All you have do is to give a missed call to 89 80 80 80 80