Bengaluru: BJP Rajya Sabha MP Rajeev Chandrasekhar on Friday (August 9) announced Rs 1 crore from his MPLAD (Member of Parliament Local Area Development Scheme) fund for the flood-affected in north Karnataka.

Announcing this on Twitter, Chandrasekhar said, “Floods have created widespread damage in my state and thousands of people lives and homes impacted. I am announcing Rs. 1.0 crore from my MPLAD fund to flood-affected. Request business and all those who can to help out in anyway they can.”


Several districts in north Karnataka have been affected by floods. So far, 10 people have lost their lives.

Earlier, on Thursday (August 8), Karnataka chief minister BS Yediyurappa said that Infosys Foundation chairperson Sudha Murthy had agreed to pay Rs 10 crore to the state chief minister’s relief fund.

On Friday (August 9), Yediyurappa said that the Central government has assured to extend all assistance to Karnataka to deal with the situation arising out of severe floods and incessant rains.

"I am in constant touch with the Central government", Yediyurappa told reporters in Mudhol in Bagalkot district, where he interacted with the flood-affected people and later undertook an aerial survey.

He said the Prime Minister Narendra Modi, home minister Amit Shah and defence minister Rajnath Singh had been briefed on the rescue and relief efforts in Karnataka.

"The Centre will extend all assistance from a financial point of view they have also assured to help in other means," the chief minister said.

Nearly 44,000 people have been evacuated from flood-hit and rain-affected areas of Karnataka.

The worst-hit was Belagavi district, where ten people have lost their lives while 40,180 people have been evacuated by rescue teams comprising fire and emergency department, State Disaster Response Force, National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) and the Indian Army.

The floods and rains have left a trail of destruction in vast areas of north, coastal and Malnad districts of the state.

Besides Belagavi, other affected districts include Bagalkot, Vijayapura, Raichur, Yadgiri, Uttara Kannada, Dakshina Kannada, Shivamogga, Kodagu and Chikkamagaluru.