Chandigarh: Bharatiya Janata Party leader Manohar Lal Khattar will take oath as Haryana chief minister for the second term on Sunday (October 27). The announcement came after Khattar was elected as BJP's legislative party leader. 

Union minister Ravi Shankar Prasad, who was also present at the BJP legislative party meeting, said, "We will go meet the Governor Satyadeo Narain Arya, and request him to invite us to form the government." On Saturday, BJP national president and Union home minister Amit Shah met JJP leaders and announced the merger in Haryana.

Also read: Haryana Assembly election: Five Independent candidates extend support to BJP, meet JP Nadda
"Accepting the mandate by the people of Haryana, leaders of both parties (BJP-JJP) have decided that BJP-JJP will form the government together in Haryana. The chief minister will be from the BJP and deputy chief minister will be from the JJP," he said after the meeting.
BJP won 40 seats in the 90-member Assembly while JJP bagged 10 seats in its debut polls. Congress won 31 seats in the state. Eight seats went to the Independents including Haryana Lokhit Party's Gopal Kanda. 

At the same time, the Congress in Maharashtra on Friday (October 25) said it was open to an offer from the Shiv Sena, which fought the Assembly elections in alliance with the ruling BJP. Maharashtra Congress president Balasaheb Thorat said that if the Sena showed the courage to break up with the BJP, he was open to the possibility of joining hands with Uddhav Thackeray’s outfit.