Mumbai: The Shiv Sena has moved the Supreme Court amid news of the Governor recommending President's rule in Maharashtra.

Among the many developments in the state today, reports stated that Governor BS Koshyari has recommended President's rule in Maharashtra. Sources claim that the Union Cabinet has approved the Governor’s recommendation of President's rule in the state.

The Shiv Sena’s complaint is that the BJP was given 48 hours to stake claim and form government whereas the Sena was given only 24 hours. Shiv Sena leaders allege that the Governor is acting on behalf of the BJP.

Last night (November 11), the Governor invited NCP to form government and gave the party a deadline of 24 hours that ends at 8:30 pm today.

Reacting to the same, Shiv Sena spokesperson Priyanka Chaturvedi said, "How can the honourable Governor recommend President’s rule till the time given to NCP doesn’t lapse?"

In the latest development, Congress leader Sonia Gandhi is said to have called NCP chief Sharad Pawar and authorised three senior leaders to hold talks with the NCP.

Accordingly, Congress leaders Ahmed Patel, Mallikarjun Kharge and KC Venugopal will hold discussions with Sharad Pawar.

Shiv Sena has approached Congress leader, advocate Kapil Sibal for legal advice as it plans to appeal the apex court if President's rule is imposed in the state. Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray spoke to Kapil Sibal and Ahmed Patel and discussed the issue.

After BJP refused to stake claim to from government in Maharashtra, the second largest party Shiv Sena with 56 MLAs was invited to form the government. It was given 24 hours that lapsed last night. Shiv Sena requested for 48 hours, but the Governor refused to accept the plea. Later, he invited the third largest party NCP with 54 seats to form the government.

The Shiv Sena and NCP have formed an alliance but are short of 35 seats. However, amidst news of Congress extending outside support to Sena, veteran Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge said that talks were on and the Congress leader did not confirm that the party would lend support to the Shiv Sena-NCP alliance.

Among the 288 constituency Assemblies, BJP has 105 seats, Shiv Sena 56, NCP 54 and Congress has won 44 seats.