Bengaluru: Devendra Fadnavis, Maharashtra Chief Minister has filed nomination papers from Nagpur South West seat.

He was accompanied by Union minister Nitin Gadkari and Devendra Fadnavis' wife Amruta as he filed his nominations. 


Before filing his nominations, chief minister Devendra Fadnavis and his wife Amruta sought blessings of Nitin Gadkari and his wife Kanchan.

Also Read: Where will Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis contest from?

As regards the Congress, it has fielded former BJP MLA Ashish Deshmukh. 

As he filed his nomination, the Maharashtra BJP released the fourth list of candidates and dropped top party leaders Vinod Tawde, Prakash Mehta and Eknath Khadse.
With this, the final seat-sharing formula between BJP and Shiv Sena has also been finalised. BJP will be contesting on 150 seats while Shiv Sena will contest on 124 seats and other allies will get 14 seats.

Maharashtra will be going for poll on October 21 along with Haryana. The results will be announced on October 24. Maharashtra has 288 assembly seats while Haryana has 90 assembly seats.  

The fight for the elections began with Sharad Pawar hitting out at Amit Shah last month, saying people who have gone to jail should not question him and dragging the issue of Pulwama attacks, adding that only a Pulwama-like incident would change the fortunes of the BJP.

On the other hand, Devendra Fadnavis is confident of retaining power. He said that in the last five years he worked for water conservation. In next five years, his focus will be water distribution and making the drought a past.

Interestingly, these elections in Maharashtra and Haryana will be the first elections after PM Modi’s roaring success in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. This will also be a vote on his newer policies like UAPA amendment, steps taken to counter economy plummeting and most importantly, the abrogation of Articles 370 and 35A.

So the countdown has begun. Let’s see who emerges victorious.