Bengaluru: With former Madhya Pradesh CM Kamal Nath resigning with no majority on his side, Shivraj Singh Chouhan took over as the next CM of the state. 

With MLA also resigning, bypolls would to be conducted. as per rules, these bypolls have to be held within six months from the day the assembly seat falls vacant. 

Taking to Twitter, BJP Jyotiraditya Scindia mentioned that the result of these bypolls will highlight the area of injustice, adding that the public stands with BJP.


A note on bypolls 

Republic TV notes that the bypolls in the state have to be conducted by September 10. BJP needs to win at least 9 sets out of the vacant 24 seats. The BJP has currently 107 MLAs, while the Congress has 92. The BJP had earlier claimed the support of 7 more MLAs.


Of the 24 seats that go to polls, 16 falls in the Gwalior region which is considered as Scindia’s stronghold.  The 24 seats where polls are to be held include Jaura (Morena), Sumawali (Morena), Morena, Dimni (Morena), Ambah (Morena), Mehgaon (Bhind), Surkhi (Sagar), Byohari (Sahdol), Anuppur, Agar, Harpiplaya (Dewas), Sanwer (Indore), Sanchi (Vidisha), Suwasara (Mandsaur), Gohad (Bhind), Gwalior, Gwalior East, Dabra (Gwalior), Bhander (Gwalior), Karaira (Shivpuri), Ratkheda (Shivpuri), Bamori (Guna), Ashok Nagar, Mungawali (Ashok Nagar).

Jyotiraditya Scindia quit the Congress amid fracas with senior leader Kamal Nath and the top brass of the Congress party. Ultimately, he tendered his resignation and joined the BJP.