Guwahati: Kaliabor Lok Sabha constituency in central Assam is traditionally a Congress bastion, but the question raised is, will the Congress continue its domination this time too.

The election in Kaliabor Lok Sabha constituency spanning over 10 Assembly segments in central Assam’s Nagaon and Golaghat districts was held on April 11 and this election is a do-or-die battle for the Congress to retain the seat.

In 2014, Gaurav Gogoi, son of former Assam chief minister Tarun Gogoi won the seat defeating Mrinal Kumar Saikia of the BJP by 93,874 votes by securing 38% of the votes.

Gogoi once again contested from the seat by aiming to elect to the lower house for consecutive second times.

While the Congress has fielded Gogoi, BJP’s ally party Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) has fielded Moni Madhav Mahanta, former leader of All Assam Student’s Union (AASU) and brother of Assam minister Keshab Mahanta.

In this election, the BJP has fielded its candidates in 10 seats out of 14 Lok Sabha seats in Assam, while BJP’s ally party AGP fielded its candidates in three and Bodoland People’s Front contested in one seat.

A high of 82.09% polling was recorded in Kaliabor Lok Sabha constituency this time.

In the 2009 general election, Tarun Gogoi’s brother Dip Gogoi had won for the Congress by defeating AGP’s Gunin Hazarika.

Except in 1996 when it elected an AGP MP, Kaliabor has been a Congress fortress.

Tarun Gogoi was elected from Kaliabor in 1991, 1998 and 1999 before he moved on to helm the state.