New Delhi: Rohtak,which is also known as the political capital of Haryana is a strong hold of Congress and BJP this time will try to make a dent in their rivals’ bastion.

The Congress has won the Lok Sabha elections 11 out 17 times on the Rohtak Lok Sabha seat as the sitting member of Parliament Deepender Singh Hooda, his father Bhupinder Singh Hooda, and grandfather Ranbir Singh Hooda has represented it nine times.

Deepender Singh Hooda was the only Congress leader from Haryana to survive Modi wave during the Lok Sabha in 2014.

The Rohtak Lok Sabha constituency went for polls on May 12 as part of the sixth phase of the 2019 general elections.  As Hooda is fighting to get re-elected for a fourth consecutive time, his rivals the Bharatiya Janata Party candidate former MP Arvind Kumar Sharma, Jannayak Janata Party (JJP) Pradeep Deswal is contesting to stop his winning haul.

On this seat the Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) is being represented by Dharambir Fauji and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate is Kishan Lal.

BJP candidate Arvind Kumar Sharma has served the Karnal Lok Sabha constituency as a Congress party member from 2004 to 2014. However, he is contesting from the Rohtak seat on a BJP ticket.

In the 2014 general elections, Deepender Singh Hooda defeated Om Prakash Dhankar of the BJP with a margin of 16.34 per cent or 1,70,627 votes. This marked the Congress’ eleventh win from the Rohtak Lok Sabha seat. The constituency has been a stronghold of the Congress.