New Delhi: It is a clash of titans in the truest sense. On one hand, you have former rail minister and senior TMC leader Dinesh Trivedi and on the other BJP's Arjun Singh who is not only a local strongman but is also credited with Trivedi's win while he was in Trinamool. 

During the last Lok Sabha elections in 2014, Barrackpore had 1,287,222 registered electors – 682,366 of the male and 604,856 female. The constituency had witnessed an 81.66% voter turnout in 2014.

But with Singh on BJP's side, many wonder whether Trivedi can repeat his success of 2014. The area also saw widespread violence. Particularly in Bhatpara, which also saw a by-election. Crude bombs were hurled and at least two cars were torched. 

Chaos had also erupted in Tetulpur area of Barrackpore constituency when BJP candidate Arjun Singh reached the area after hearing that a BJP polling agent was not allowed to sit inside the polling booth. The moment he came out of his car, TMC goons started shouting slogans against him, the BJP alleged. BJP supporters also retaliated against TMC supporters by chanting Jai Shri Ram.

Also Read: Despite 100% central forces' deployment for polls, Bengal and violence inseparable