New Delhi: Sitting BJP MP Anurag Thakur is leading with 3,103 votes against his nearest rival Ram Lal Thakur of Congress in Himachal Pradesh's Hamirpur seat. BJP's young gun Anurag Thakur is looking to get re-elected for the fourth times in Hamirpur Lok Sabha constituency of Himachal Pradesh.

The Hamirpur Lok Sabha constituency is a BJP stronghold that has been represented by Anurag Thakur since 2008. Before Anurag Thakur, his father Prem Kumar Dhumal won the seat in 2007, and he quit in 2008 to take over as the chief minister of Himachal Pradesh.

Anurag Thakur is much more cautious this time after his father Prem Kumar Dhumal lost from Sujanpur assembly segment, a part of Hamirpur Lok Sabha constituency in 2017 assembly elections. That cost him the post of Chief Minister. In Himachal Pradesh's politics, Union Minister JP Nadda and the Dhumals are on the opposite side of the prism.

Thakur is up against Congress' Ram Lal Thakur who is an MLA. In the last election, Thakur won against Congress candidate Rajender Singh Rana again by 99 thousand votes. Historically, Hamirpur has been a strong saffron seat, and the party has won continuously since 1989 barring once in 1996.

Prem Kumar Dhumal has won the seat thrice, Anurag Thakur thrice and Suresh Chandel thrice, all representing BJP. Overall the saffron party has won the seat nine times and Congress on five occasions. On May 19th, Hamirpur citizens will decide the fate of Anurag Thakur, one of BJP's most prominent young faces in the Parliament.