New Delhi: The Aam Aadmi Party has placed its bet on party’s trusted leader Bhagwant Mann who last year tasted victory from Sangrur constituency in Punjab.

His poll victory in 2014 was significant for more than one reason. He not only defeated veteran leader Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa of Shrimani Akali Dal (SAD) but also made his victory impressive by winning the seat by a margin of 2 lakh votes.

But AAP is facing challenges in Punjab due to factionalism and internal bickering within the party leaders. This poses a serious challenge as Mann is also the president of the party in the state.

Last year Mann had resigned from the post of party president in protest against party chief Arvind Kejriwal’s apology to Akali Dal leader Bikramjit Singh Majithia in a defamation case.

Polling in Sangrur parliamentary constituency was held on May 19 in the 7th phase (last phase) of the general election 2019. Sangrur comprises of nine assembly segments which include Lehra, Dirba (SC), Sunam, Bhadaur (SC), Barnala, Mehal Kalan (SC), Malerkotla, Dhuri and Sangrur.

At the time of the previous Lok Sabha elections in 2014, Sangrur had 1,424,743 registered electors -- 758,197 of them male and 666,546 female. The constituency had seen a 77.17% voter turnout in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. In Sangrur the male voter turnout was 76.96% and 77.41% female voters turned out for voting.