Bengaluru: Nine rebel MLAs from Congress and JD(S) approached the Supreme Court on August 1 (Thursday), against former Speaker Ramesh Kumar's order of disqualifying them from the Karnataka Legislative Assembly.

Before resigning, Speaker Ramesh Kumar had on July 28 directed the disqualification of the 17 MLAs from JD(S) and Congress stating that they cannot contest election in this 15th Karnataka Legislative Assembly term, i.e. till 2023.

A few MLAs had already approached the Supreme Court on July 29, but nine more MLAs have joined them in appealing to the apex court against their disqualification order.

The nine MLAs are: Pratapa Gouda, BC Patil, S Hebbar, ST Somasekhar, Byrathi Basavaraj, Muniratna from Congress; AH Vishwanath, Gopalaiah, Narayana Gowda from JD(S).

These MLAs did not take part in the trust vote sought by the Congress and JD(S) coalition government, despite party issuing a whip to them. Following this the coalition government lost the trust vote against BJP.

After the fall of the government, speaker Ramesh Kumar in his last speech made an announcement on July 28 that all rebel MLAs of Congress and JD(S) stand disqualified and will not contest elections till 2023.

This decision was criticised and it was said that the Speaker was overstepping his responsibilities.  

BJP state president Yediyurappa was sworn in as the chief minister and Vishweshwar Hegde Kageri of BJP was elected as the new Speaker.

Now, the rebel MLAs have come together to challenge the former speaker's orders. Meanwhile, Congress and JD(S) have expelled these rebel MLAs from their respective parties.

MyNation has access to the documents submitted by the rebel MLAs to the Supreme Court.