Bengaluru: On August 20, Karnataka chief minister BS Yediyurappa finally formed his Cabinet. He inducted as many as 17 members, elating some and infuriating some others. While the chief minister is yet to allot portfolios, we give you a probable list of the portfolios.


Probable ministry

KS Eshwarappa


Jagadish Shettar


Basavaraj Bommai

PWD/Water resources


Lakshman Savadi


R Ashok



Medical education


B Sriramulu

Social Welfare

Govin Karjol

Rural Welfare and Panchayat Raj

Suresh Kumar

Law or Higher Education

V Somanna

Urban Development or Housing

CT Ravi

Forest minister or Primary Education

Srinivas Poojari

Ports and Fisheries


Parliamentary Affairs or Agriculture

CC Patil

Food and Civil Supplies

Prabhu Chouhan

Minor Irrigation

Shashikala Jolle

Women and Child Welfare

H Nagesh

Small Scale Industries


The final decision on the allotment of portfolios will take one or two more days and the BJP top brass has to give its consent to it.

After toppling the coalition government (105 – 99) Yediyurappa took oath late last month. But more than a fortnight of his taking oath, he had failed to form his Cabinet.

In fact, the members of the opposition had been severely castigating him as a “one-man army”.

Finally, after consultations with BL Santhosh Kumar, the BJP organising secretary and the national president Amit Shah, Yediyurappa did expand his Cabinet.

However, it should be noted that, akin to the grouse among the coalition members that they did not get ministries, the BJP is also facing internal rebellion as many stalwarts like Umesh Katti, Hukkeri MLA, are openly dissenting their non-presence in the Cabinet.