Bengaluru: The election to the post of Karnataka Assembly Speaker will be held on July 31, said deputy Speaker Krishna Reddy.

Speaker Ramesh Kumar tendered his resignation after BJP leader Yediyurappa won the trust vote today. 

Following the development, Krishna Reddy took charge as the temporary Speaker. He said that nomination for the Speaker's post can be submitted till 12pm tomorrow (July 28).

Accordingly, the House has been adjourned till Wednesday 11 am, when the election for the Speaker's post will be held.

Also read: Ramesh Kumar, Karnataka Assembly Speaker, resigns after Yediyurappa wins floor test.

Three names of BJP leaders are doing the rounds for the post of Speaker. There were reports of leaders approaching MLA Suresh Kumar to take up the post.

It is also said that Suresh Kumar is not interested in taking up the post, citing that he cannot do justice to the post, Suvarna News reported.

Another probable candidate is former chief minister Jagadish Shettar. He was the Speaker during Yediyurappa's tenure as chief minister in 2008. But Shettar resigned from his post in 2009 as he was inducted into Yeddyurappa's Cabinet as minister for rural development and panchayat raj. His name is being considered but the sources have not confirmed the news yet.

One more candidate likely to file his nomination is KG Bopaiah. After Shettar resigned from the Speaker's post in 2009, Bopaiah was appointed as the Speaker. Bopaiah represents Virajpet constituency.

Bopaiah was chosen as the pro-term speaker by the Governor of Karnataka for the floor test held on May 19, 2018, when Yediyurappa had to prove majority, but failed to do so, resulting in Kumaraswamy with the help of Congress proving majority on May 23.