Bengaluru: Karnataka rebel MLAs have decided to move the Supreme Court against state Assembly Speaker Ramesh Kumar, alleging that their resignations were not being accepted on purpose. 

On Tuesday (July 9), after scrutinising the resignation letters, Kumar had announced that out of 13 resignation letters submitted, only five were valid and eight could not be accepted due to mistakes.

He said that the resignations of eight MLAs were not in order and asked them to re-submit in the prescribed format if they wanted it to be processed.

ASLO READ: Karnataka coalition crisis: Mumbai Police stop Congress leader DK Shivakumar outside hotel

In the petition, 10 rebel MLAs have accused the Speaker of abandoning his constitutional duty and said that he is deliberately delaying the acceptance of their resignations.

On Wednesday (July 10), senior advocate and former Attorney General of India, Mukul Rohatgi, who will argue on behalf of the rebel MLAs, mentioned it before CJI led bench.

Hearing the case, the Supreme Court refused to take up the petition of rebel MLAs immediately. Rohatgi had requested the three-member bench including Chief Justice Ranjan Gogoi, Deepak Gupta and Anirudh to take up the petition today, after lunch. But the bench has postponed the hearing to tomorrow (July 11).

WATCH: Congress leaders Ghulam Nabi Azad, Kharge question Karnataka Governor's conduct, make fresh appeal to rebel MLAs

The petition also stated that the Speaker has become incommunicado and due process of law relating to acceptance of resignation is being halted.

They also said that the process for acceptance of their resignations is being halted with a mala fide political intent to save the minority Congress-JD(S) government.

Meanwhile, the rebel MLAs holed up in a Mumbai hotel also submitted a letter to Mumbai Police seeking security. They requested police not to allow Karnataka chief minister HD Kumaraswamy, water resources minister DK Shivakumar or any other political leaders to enter the hotel premises.

The Speaker has set dates (July 12 and 15) for the meeting of the five MLAs whose resignations are found to be in accordance with the rule.